Chinese (Simplified)EnglishFrenchGermanItalianJapaneseKoreanRussianSpanish
Oct 292019

Kuranui’s Theatresports teams really put on show during last week’s Wairarapa School’s Theatresports competition, with both senior and junior teams taking the top spots in their respective categories.

Theatre Sports 1

Run by Harlequin Theatre, each team performed between two to three games with a challenge by improvising a scene based on ideas from the audience. Kuranui entered three junior novice teams, a senior novice team, and an open grade team. The senior open team came first in their section, while the senior novice team came second, and the junior team came first in the junior novice section.

Kuranui’s Head of Performing Arts, Juanita McLellan, was impressed with the passion and innovation shown by her teams. “The senior open team was brilliant – and when playing props, Hayden Tankersley sat on the cardboard box which he collapsed into bringing the house down. Later on in the scene, Adam Carlisle stood in the box as Lake Taupo,” explained McLellan.

“The winning junior team played “Survivor” – with the audience eliminating team members as the game went on. They receiving a perfect score of 15 points for their efforts. Oli Hammat and Jayden Grey brought the house down with “hands interview” by demonstrating how to go ice fishing with rhubarb, while Khalid Greave’s team did an amazing job of “slo-mo commentary” ice skating on a first date.

“It is wonderful to see so many novice junior teams from the college, and a demonstration of the passion which comes out of Kuranui’s Performing Arts department.

“These young performers are getting more and more confident each time they take to the stage, and events such as this provides them with experiences which shape them as actors,” added McLellan.

(1st Place) Senior open team – “Rrrrrr we pirates” Hayden Tankersley, Adam Carlisle, Jackson Harbers and Emma Rose.

(2nd place) Senior novice team – “The 21st of September” Oli Hammat, Jayden Grey, Taizak Walker, Ashley Taylor, Adam Butler and Joe Laybourn.

(1st Place) Junior novice team – “5 normies and an ozzie” Josh Wiegman, Alex Hartley, Jorja Holden, Aimee Clouston, Meg Hunter and Isla Richardson.

Junior novice team – “Oh, Sharon!” Khalid Greaves, Hope Butler, Jasmine Loveday, Ana Souto and Matt Edwards.

Junior novice team – “Flabulous Ostriches” James Morland, Charlie O’Connell, Nilah Savage, Monet Dignan, Freya Lewington.

Theatre Sports 4

Theatre Sports 3

Theatre Sports 2